It’s My Birthday!

It’s my birthday! The actual person, Jerry Hampton, behind the author, Shanon Grey, turns 73 today. In truth, I was born at 7:05 a.m. in DePaul Hospital in Norfolk, Virginia. My father, who’d been traveling, arrived home to see a note on the door. “Gone to hospital to welcome our child.”

He was so shaken, he forgot the car and ran all the way to the hospital. Luckily, they didn’t live far from DePaul. He arrived to see my mother sitting up in bed, holding me. “Well,” she told him, “she arrived just in time for breakfast.” It’s been one of my favorite meals ever since. In fact, today, my sweet hubby fixed me my favorite, an open faced fried egg sandwich.

In the picture, I am wearing the sweater my daughter helped me pick out when she was here for a couple of days, as I stand next to the carved owl my husband gave me. One can never have too many owls, dragons, or friends. I am truly blessed. I have a plethora of all three.

Enjoy your day–it’s my present to you. And enjoy every birthday. It’s the one day of the year that is uniquely yours. Thanks for reading my books and being my friend. I’ve enjoyed every minute of it.

About Shanon Grey

I am a Fiction::Weaver, weaving stories of suspense, action, and mystery where science and magic merge.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to It’s My Birthday!

  1. SUSAN M GONNELL says:

    Happy Birthday, sweet Jerry! Sending best wishes for a wonderful new year!

Leave a comment