A Day In The Life ~

My life as a dichotomy~

Being a writer is never easy. Being a writer and trying to survive unemployment doubles one’s efforts, as well as one’s stress. It’s unlike having two full-time jobs, one writing and one finding employment ~ because, when you have two actual jobs, you apportion your time, being spared the consuming guilt created by ignoring one, for even a moment, while concentrating on the other.  When I was working, I found the days to be a respite from writing and found myself inspired when I stepped into my Shanon Grey shoes. One actually bolstered the other. Now, my days consist of finding and applying for jobs and accomplishing all the various tasks that involves. I try to escape into my writing at night, creating yet another avenue into Ruthorford, while carrying the worries of the day with me. Still, it is the night that makes the day bearable. I persevere.

Today was one of the days designated to fulfilling bureaucratic requirements. Doing so is never fun–morose even–and today was strangely more so. But I did as required. I left there, the weight of my job searches on my shoulders–or, to be more precise, feeling sorry for myself. So, since B & N was nearby, I thought I’d drown my sorrows in a frappe, while browsing through the stacks, looking for a fictional escape.

Then…t20130815_SOSandMKatBNhere on the end…under NEW ROMANCES…sat copies of both of my books. Meadow’s Keep on the right, second from the bottom, and The Shoppe of Spells, on the bottom left. I let out a squeal that had a bookseller running. Then, she smiled, hugged me, and said, “Look at you, Shanon Grey!”

Just when you wonder ~ something taps you on the shoulder…. Thank you!

Oh! You can get my books at Barnes & Noble and Amazon.

About Shanon Grey

I am a Fiction::Weaver, weaving stories of suspense and romance with threads of the paranormal.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Day In The Life ~

  1. Karen says:

    That’s so awesome! I’m honored to know you, Shanon, and to be a part of the Sisterhood of Technical Writers and Authors with you. Your books are truly magical, and I’m so glad you’re seeing success with them!

  2. shanongrey says:

    Thank you, Karen. I am just as honored. It’s nice to know you’re out there with me.

Leave a Reply

